Professor Dr. Sascha L. Schmidt

Sascha L. Schmidt is a senior full professor and director of the Center for Sports and Management (CSM) with "Future of Sport" as one of his key research areas. He studied economic sciences at the Universities of Essen and Zurich, where he also graduated with a doctorate. At the invitation of Harvard Business School faculty he worked in Boston as a visiting scholar, after which he joint strategy consulting. After several years at McKinsey, Sascha was appointed director of the ICS research program at the University of St. Gallen, and qualified as a professor at the EBS University (habilitation). He then entered into the world of entrepreneurship, building up the activities of recruitment agency a-connect within Germany. In 2011 he returned to academia by founding the Institute for Sports, Business & Society at EBS University. Sascha joined the WHU in 2014.

On the digitalized future of professional football

"In the year 2025 professional clubs will operate as multinationals in various fields of business beyond the football field . . . and within the global sphere. In the process, the intelligent linking of data and context as well as targeted processing of large amounts of information will assure success in the area of sports just as it does in economics."  (Prof. Dr. Sascha L. Schmidt)

No sphere in our daily lives is exempt from the digitalization of our planet - not even football. What will happen if the everyday world of football now enters the realm of science fiction? Look at what new demands football clubs are already subjected to today as a result of the digital transformation.

Among the issues professor Schmidt is concerned with is the question of how, in the digital age, new possibilities and the potential of modern Internet-based media can change the foundations of professional soccer clubs in terms of their strategy, structure, culture, and processes. He investigates professional football clubs in 2025 after they have passed through the digital transformation.

Schmidt observes how, with the help of the latest technology, a 360-degree fan experience through all channels of communication and points of contact (e.g. the stadium, E-Sports, online shop, club TV, and social media) is created and how reaching fans through digital means can be used for profitable business. Finally, Schmidt looks at how professional clubs will transform their structures and processes across departments in fluid organizations and can hold their own in the “war for digital talent” off the football field.

Contact

Professor Dr.

Sascha L. Schmidt

Chairholder / Director CSM

+49 (0)211 44709 740

Professor Dr. Sascha L. Schmidt

Sascha L. Schmidt ist Seniorprofessor, Lehrstuhlinhaber und Leiter des Center for Sports and Management (CSM) an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management am Standort Düsseldorf. Dort widmet er sich der Zukunft des Sports als einen seiner zentralen Forschungsschwerpunkte. Schmidt studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an den Universitäten Essen und Zürich, wo er auch promovierte. Auf Einladung der Fakultät der Harvard Business School ging er als Visiting Scholar nach Boston und stieg danach in die Unternehmensberatung ein. Nach mehrjährigem Engagement bei McKinsey übernahm Schmidt die Leitung des ICS-Forschungsprogramms an der Universität St. Gallen und begann, an der EBS zu habilitieren. Nach seiner Habilitation wurde er Unternehmer und baute zunächst das Deutschlandgeschäft des Personaldienstleisters a-connect und zu Beginn des Jahres 2011 das Institute for Sports, Business & Society an der EBS Universität auf. Im Jahr 2014 folgte dann sein Wechsel an die WHU.

Zur digitalen Zukunft des Profifußballs

„Proficlubs operieren im Jahr 2025 als Konzerne in verschiedenen Geschäftsfeldern außerhalb des Fußballplatzes …und das global. Dabei werden die intelligente Verknüpfung von Daten und Kontext sowie die gezielte Aufarbeitung von großen Datenmengen zu Erfolgsgaranten im sportlichen wie im wirtschaftlichen Bereich“. (Prof. Dr. Sascha L. Schmidt)

Die Digitalisierung unseres Planeten schreitet voran. Keiner unserer Lebensbereiche kann sich auf Dauer diesem Trend entziehen – auch nicht der Fußball. Was passiert, wenn nun Science Fiction Einzug in den Fußballalltag hält? Welchen neuen Anforderungen sind Fußballclubs durch die digitale Transformation schon heute ausgesetzt?

Professor Schmidt beschäftigt sich unter anderem mit der Fragestellung, wie im Digitalzeitalter neue Möglichkeiten und die Potenziale moderner Internetmedien das Fundament jedes Profifußballclubs in seiner Strategie, Struktur, Kultur und seinen Prozessen verändern werden. Er untersucht wie Proficlubs im Jahr 2025, nachdem sie die digitale Transformation durchschritten haben, aussehen werden.

Schmidt erforscht, wie mit Hilfe modernster Technologien ein digitales 360-Grad-Fanerlebnis über alle Kommunikationskanäle und Kontaktpunkte (wie z.B. Stadion, E-Sports, Online Shop, Club TV, soziale Medien) hinweg geschaffen wird, und wie digitale Fanspuren für ertragreiche Geschäfte genutzt werden können. Schließlich beschäftigt er sich mit der Frage, wie Proficlubs ihre Strukturen und Prozesse über Abteilungsgrenzen hinweg in fluide Organisationen überführen und im „Krieg um digitale Talente“ außerhalb des Fußballplatzes bestehen können.

 

 

Kontakt

Photo of Sascha L. Schmidt

Prof. Dr.

Sascha L. Schmidt

Lehrstuhlinhaber / Direktor CSM

+49 (0)211 44709 740